Academy of Emergency Nursing



The Academy of Emergency Nursing was established by the Emergency Nurses Association on September 28, 2004 to honor emergency nurses who:

  • Have made enduring, substantial contributions to emergency nursing
  • Advance the profession of emergency nursing, including the healthcare system in which emergency nursing is delivered
  • Provide visionary leadership to ENA and AEN

The body of work left by AEN Fellows goes well beyond being an outstanding nurse and a devoted ENA member. To date, more than 160 extraordinary emergency nurses have been inducted into the AEN and proudly list FAEN as one of their professional credentials.

Directory of Fellows Academy Guidelines


Applications for the 2020 Academy of Emergency Nursing are now open

The Academy of Emergency Nursing will be accepting applications for the 2020 class of Fellows until noon CT on January 24, 2020. To access information, resources, and the Fellow application click below.

Fellowship Application Details


AEN 2020 Board


Vicki Patrick, MS, RN, CEN, ACNP-BC, FAEN



Garrett K. Chan, PhD, APRN, CNS, CEN, FAEN


Members at Large 

Nicholas A. Chmielewski, MSN, RN, CEN, CNML, NEA-BC, FAEN



Denise Bayer, MSN, RN, FAEN


Immediate Past Chair

Stephen Stapleton, PhD, MS, RN, CEN, FAEN



 If you would like to contact an AEN Board member, please email


2019 Fellows

Congratulations to the following emergency nurses who were inducted into the Academy of Emergency Nursing during the Emergency Nursing 2019 conference:

Sarah Abel, DNP, RN, CEN, FAENPatricia Nierstedt, MS, RN, CEN, FAEN
Anthony M. Angelow, PhD, APN, CEN, FAENJack Rodgers, MBA, RN, CEN, FAEN
Kimberly Johnson, PhD, RN, CEN, FAENWilliam Schueler, MSN, RN, CEN, FAEN
Freda Lyon, DNP, RN, NE-BC, FAENElizabeth Stone, PhD, RN, CPEN, FAEN